The Basic Laws of Fort Lauderdale DUI Penalties and Fines

Thursday , 21, March 2024 Leave a comment

Fort Lauderdale DUI is based on The Washington DUI Law and applies the same penalty to DUI convictions. However, there are some issues to be considered whenever a person is confronted by police and is convicted for DUI at Fort Lauderdale. Do I get sent to jail? How long will I be in prison? Do you have a chance of suspension? What penalties are there? continue reading?

What is the amount of fines? If yes, for the length of time? These are just a few of the most asked-for questions to Fort Lauderdale DUI attorneys from completely unaware and irresponsible clients.

Washington Penalties and fines for DUI in Fort Lauderdale and Washington are in accordance with the following statutes and information:

First Washington DUI (Fort Lauderdale DUI)

For the first offense, no less than one day and more than one year of imprisonment. The court has the power to suspend or defer the punishment in the event that it is determined that the prison term poses significant risk to the individual’s mental or physical health. A court could decide to install an EHM (Electric Home Monitoring Device) or alcohol breathalyzer the cost of the defendant, for 15 days.

A high BAC should not be less than 2 days nor greater than one year jail time. Imprison may be stayed or suspended only when the court finds out that it a y cause significant danger for the mental or physical wellbeing of the offender. If this is the case, then the court may order to install an EHM or Electric Home Monitoring Device (an alcohol breathalyzer that detects alcohol may also be included) at the expense of the person who is in prison for fifteen days.

Costs of fines:

The BAC per se limit is No more than $5,000, and no less than $350.

High Blood Alcohol Content or refusing to take the test: Not over $5,000 and anything less than.

Additional cost of $125 is assessed to those who have been sentenced to deferred prosecution or convicted due to an arrest, or sentenced to a lesser charge. The fee is paid to the Washington State Toxicology Laboratory.

The additional $500 will be used to support the compensation fund to the victim. About 60% of the amount is used to the safety and education program.

License Suspension

The first time a person is charged with BAC as such The first offense of BAC per se is a 90-day period, or 3 months

If you refuse to test or have a high blood alcohol level, the initial offence is punishable with a fine of one (1) year (12 months) or a one year suspension.

Zero Tolerance Law Violation

90 day suspension

Conditional License:

First-time offenders will only be granted a conditional license once they are convicted.

Had the time to serve the required suspension period.

Second Washington DUI Offenders (Fort Lauderdale DUI offense)

Prison: Minimum 30 days Maximum 1 year. Home monitoring for 60 days.

The cost of fines

Second offenses occur where the BAC levels fall below.15 The minimum is $500. maximum $5,000.

A second offense occurs an offense when BAC levels reaches.15 A minimum of $750 is required and a maximum $5,000.

The charges for any additional violations are exactly the same as charges for the offenses for the first time.

License Suspension

The second offense for BAC is 2 years or 24 months

A second offense of a high BAC, or refusal to take a test: 30 days or 90 days

Zero Tolerance Law Violation:

1 year or until maximum age for offenders is 21 1 year or until the offenders age is 21.

Conditions of License

For 2nd time offenders no conditional licensing is permitted.

But, community and probation treatment is allowed for DUI be evicted at court’s discretion for both first and subsequent Fort Lauderdale DUI offenses.

Please give us your valuable comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *